This is not an ordinary vampire story.

I have this obsession at the moment with writing, it is a good job my hands are currently free from inflammation. I want to write about my parents lives (before they forget), I want to write a journal of my own, not about my life, but just about things we do as a family, and other points of interest to look back on.  I want to write in the journals more often that I keep for the kids about their lives, interests, hobbies, school and their developing personalities.  I am continually writing down healthy living tips, and Bria and I have a special little book we write letters back and forth to each other in, which I love.  The last entry was me apologising for throwing a toy to her and the hard plastic nose of it donking her on the head and making her cry. Oops!

I found a website with 365 days of writing prompts, so I’m going to give that a go. I also found one for 52 weeks of prompts, which I like as well, I might just do both! In a notebook and maybe on here.

I have 12 days of January to start with so here goes!

Jan 1 2017 – Stroke of midnight

Where were you last night when 2016 turned into 2017? Is it where I wanted to be?

I was asleep in bed, and half of me wanted to be there, the other half wishes I had the energy and social life to stay up to midnight with friends having a couple of sensible cocktails and letting the kids stay up watching fireworks knowing that they would sleep in until 10am the following day after a late night. In reality they wake at 6am if not before regardless of what time they go to bed, and I don’t want to deal with grumpy kids for the next day.

Jan 2 2017 – Resolved

Have I ever made a new years resolution that I have kept?

I have no idea, I don’t make any these days, I used to, but I can’t remember if I kept them or not.

Jan 3 2017 – Kick it

What is the 11th item on my bucket list?

Oh something else for me to write down, yay! Then I’ll have the answer of what is the 11th item. Let us just say that it will be travelling to England, Scotland and Ireland in 10 years time.

Jan 4 2017 – Quote me

What is my favorite quote, and why does it move me?

I love a good quote, I have two that I have read daily over the last few months so they are currently my favorites, and the love yourself one that I showed Bria yesterday which I love as well, so three it is!

 

(Love yourself) is important because its true, we need to love ourselves first.

(If you can’t stop thinking about it, don’t stop working for it) this moves me to doing regular exercise, yoga, going to gym and ‘keeping / getting / staying’ fit and eating healthy.  I literally never stop thinking about these things!

(Positive things in life and being grateful) this quote makes me stop, think, be positive and grateful therefore making me happier.

Jan 5 2017 – Call Me Ishmael

Take the first sentence of our favourite book and make it the first sentence of my post.

Well I don’t really have a favourite book, I read about 18 books last year, two really made a lasting impression. #1 Still Alice by Lisa Genova and #2 Not Dead by R.T Truehall.

#2 was my favorite, I love a vampire story, it captivated my interest from the beginning, it was a bit naughty, I didn’t want to put it down and I know the author. So the first sentence of this book was “This is not an ordinary vampire story” hence the title of this blog.

I am going to give the Goodreads website / app another plug its great for organising books you want to read, have read, setting reading challenges each year, rating books, seeing what your friends are reading and so much more. (Get on it Serena).

Jan 6  – My favourite

What is the most time you’ve ever spent away from your favourite person, write about it.

I don’t have a favourite person, obviously my children and husband are all my favourites. So I’ll honestly tell you about a time recently I spent time away from Bria.

Bria hasn’t really had a successful sleep over at a friends, preferring the comfort of her own bed at home. She has had a couple of sleep overs at families, she said because they are family she was okay with those sleep overs.  At her friends house / attempted sleepovers, we have had to pick her up from friends late at night, or had a mum drop her back to us at 9pm or organise to pick her up late in the evening before her friends go to bed. I don’t mind that she likes staying at home, I like it, home is where they are supposed to sleep.  So in the holidays she said she was ready to try another sleep over, and she rang me at 9pm to say goodnight, she said she missed me, but was going to go to sleep soon. When I hung up I cried because I like her being at home with me. I hate it when one of the kids isn’t home sleeping in their bedroom at night, thank god it doesn’t happen often, they are mostly always home with me. My heart feels like a piece is ripped out when they are not home with me. I panic, I feel anxious and I feel like a piece of me is missing. I was a sook for the rest of the night and went to bed early, then at 7am she rang me, I told her I was proud of her and how exciting it must have been to wake up and have pancakes with her friend and yay now she can do more sleepovers. (which is not what my heart wanted to say) but I did as I know she had fun and will want to do it again.

Jan 7 – Helpless

When did I last feel helpless – and what did I do about it?

When my inflammation in my finger was at its peak the other week and I couldn’t do anything around the house, in the kitchen or even drive.  What did I do about it? Went to the doctor, started some medicine and tried to rest it and not use it as much as possible until it started to feel better.

Jan 8 – Teachers pet

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life either for the better or the worse. How is my life different today because of that teacher?

I’m going to skip this one as I really can’t think of one..teachers in the 70s and 80s were not that encouraging (at the schools I went to anyway).

Jan 9 – 1984

Your locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room?

A room full of flying moths and butterflies.

Jan 10 – 32 Flavours?

Vanilla, Chocolate or something else?

Licorice!

Jan 11 – This is your life.

If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it you must read it from cover to cover.

If the book was going to lay around my house forever I would probably read it. If it was only going to sit in front tempting me to read it for a short time say a week or a month or so, I would not read it.

Jan 12 – Take two

Run outside, take a picture of the first thing you see. Run inside, take a picture of the second thing you see.  Write about the connection between these two random objects, people or scenes.

I see outside a man pushing a sack truck trolley and looking at his mobile phone, inside I see the pretty white and blue flowers on our reception office counter.  Maybe the connection could be the man will buy his girlfriend flowers today?

Well that is my first 12 days of January done, now I need to write them in a note book.

That was fun!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

