Healthy stuff I like.

A few of you know I’ve always been a bit “wacky” when it comes to healthy foods, I did want to become a naturopath when I was a teenager, but that didn’t eventuate but I still love healthy things, and I love health stores. My favourite is Goodies and Grains at the Central Market, the smell of this store is to die for its just a combination of food / fresh juice probably but I just love inhaling the smell when I go in there, which is sometimes daily.

This post is specifically about two things:-

Apple Cider Vinegar & Himalayan Crystal Salt

Firstly Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV)

Over the years I have gone through stages of including Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) in my diet & in Simons, and most the time it has burnt my stomach and is so tart I screw my face up after drinking, even diluted in water it can become painful to even want to include this in my diet continually so the bottle ends up on the shelf untouched for months at a time until I can bear to touch it again.

I read somewhere this week that ACV to have the health benefits should contain “the mother” which the one we have been drinking on and off over the years does not have.   So what is “the mother” I wondered…..and I googled.

Only raw organic apple cider vinegar has the “mother of vinegar” that makes the vinegar so beneficial. The “mother” is made up of living nutrients and bacteria. You can actually see it settled in the bottom on the bottle.

So off to Goodies and Grains I went.

They stock one called Mountain Fresh “Description says” Natural apple cider vinegar plus mother. Produced from 100% Australian apples. Apple cider vinegar is used in many ways, both internally and externally. -No artificial colours -No artificial flavours -No preservatives Product of Australia

I sipped it and OMG seriously it is really amazingly much more drinkable, its sweeter and tasty and it didn’t burn my stomach.  I got home excited and poured the Cornwall one we’d been drinking into a shot glass, then the Mountain Fresh one into a shot glass, showed Simon the colour difference the Mountain Fresh is murky and got him to sample them and he agrees that the new one is much more drinkable. I think he even had some this morning of his own accord.

I still like mine diluted in a little water, straight after breakfast.  But to get more in my diet I have been making a brew of 1 green tea bag / 1 licorice and cinnamon tea bag / 1 star anise and some ACV and it is really nice and I have been sipping that over the day.

Here’s to “the mother”!!

mountain fresh

For more reading: –

http://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/the-benefits-of-apple-cider-vinegar/

Now onto Himalayan Crystal Salt.

I was in yes you guessed “Goodies and Grains” last year and they have tubs of this Himalayan Crystal Salt

himalayan_crystal_salt

It is pink and sparkly – it caught my eye.

My thoughts were what is that, what does it do and I want to include it in my diet somehow just because its pink and sparkly.  So I googled it when I got back to work.

I had for over a year now been sprinkling sea salt into my water which keeps you more hydrated and makes you wee less when your drinking lots of water  (I heard about it from a roller derby girl when it was super hot she’d remind us to keep hydrated and to add a little sea salt to our water so I did and continue to do so nearly daily), so how excited was I when I read that Himalayan Crystal Salt is good for this purpose and better for you than sea salt with many more health benefits.

Quickly here is some info:

Containing all of the 84 elements found in your body, the benefits of natural Himalayan Crystal Salt include:

  1. Regulating the water content throughout your body.
  2. Balancing excess acidity from your cells, particularly your brain cells.
  3. Balancing your blood sugar levels and helping to reduce your aging rate.
  4. Assisting in the generation of hydroelectric energy in cells in your body.
  5. Absorption of food particles through your intestinal tract.
  6. Help in clearing mucus plugs and phlegm from your lungs – particularly useful in asthma and cystic fibrosis.
  7. Acts as a strong natural antihistamine and helps clear up congestion in your sinuses
  8. Prevention of muscle cramps.
  9. Making the structure of your bones firm – osteoporosis can occur when your body needs more salt and takes it from your bones.
  10. Regulating your sleep – it is a natural hypnotic.
  11. Maintaining your libido.
  12. Preventing varicose veins and spider veins on your legs and thighs.
  13. Stabilizing irregular heartbeats – in conjunction with water it is actually essential for the regulation of your blood pressure

http://www.perfecthealthnow.com.au/products/himalayan-salt-products/crystal-salt-sole-so-lay/

So I’ve been using this instead of sea salt for the last few months, and in cooking, baking and any other time I need salt.

Some other healthy things I love in my diet are coconut oil, flaxseed, and lots of grains.

Keep cool my friends in Adelaide!

Leave a Reply

