No-bake carrot cake energy bites recipe

I love no-bake recipes, and they are my option more and more lately especially since my oven broke a few weeks ago and we’ve yet to replace it. The no-bake recipes I attempt I try to make with nice healthy ingredients and with no cooking required they don’t end up burnt (like most the things I baked) not because I’m a crap baker but because our cheap nasty electric oven (not fan forced just plain electric) that came with the house was useless and estimated to be 30 degrees hotter than the dial, 10 years of hating this useless oven so when it broke I was so HAPPY!

So my recent no-bake recipe as per the title, has had good feedback from Simon and my work colleague. Surprisingly as it has carrot “a vegetable” in it and they are sweet and Simon as per my previous comments hates vegetables made into sweet things, but he liked these. I haven’t even attempted to get the kids to eat them as they would hate them just upon sight.

I adapted the recipe from

http://www.cookincanuck.com/2013/03/no-bake-carrot-cake-granola-bites-recipe/

Recipe:

1 1/2 cups uncle toby’s oats

1/4 cup of mixed seeds sunflower, sesame & pumpkin. You could also use nuts of your choice.

2 TBS ground flax seed (grind your own in a coffee grinder or mortal and pestle)

1/2 cup (Recipe said Almond Butter) but I used Mayvers peanut and cacao 2 ingredient spread found in the health aisle at Coles.  Mayvers have an amazing range of healthy spreads check out their website!

1/4 cup honey (I’m being good and using one from the health shop)

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (I just shook it in I think 1 tsp was my measure)

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1 pinch ground cloves

1/2 cup grated carrot

1/4 cup sultanas

1/4 cup shredded coconut (from the health shop)

All mixed in a bowl and rolled into bite size balls and popped in an airtight container on waxed paper (greasproof) and kept in the fridge. Very tasty.. (the website I adapted from says keep for 1 week in fridge) they probably won’t last that long.

Image

Image

I’m still learning this word press thing so have no idea how these pictures will turn out.. but they are from cookin’ canuck and mayvers.. I’m also going to try these balls again this weekend adding some crushed pineapple and orange zest.  I think these will be my healthy christmas snack contribution anywhere we go in the lead up to christmas.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

